Irving Place- Con Edison’s Head Quarters
- Local Law 11 identified project
- Scope included stone and brick masonry repairs such as patching, pinning, sock anchoring, dutchman, pointing, stone replacement, crack repairs, and steel reinforcement
- Over 10k square feet of repairs
- Engineer Of Record:
- General Contractor:
Located at 4 Irving Place, Con Edison’s headquarters includes a series of four buildings that were constructed from 1911 to 1928. The solid brick masonry structure consists of three limestone façades and one brick elevation that faces the employee parking lot. The Neoclassical clock tower, standing over 500 feet tall, was built as a tribute to soldiers who served in WWI. The top of the structure boasts a bronze lantern known as the “tower of light” which was originally planned to dramatically light the structure at night. In 2009, the building was designated a New York City Landmark.
New York’s Local Law 11 mandatory inspections identified masonry areas in need of repair. PULLMAN was contracted to perform repairs to the structure. The initial scope included stone and brick masonry repairs such as patching, pinning, sock anchoring, dutchman, pointing, stone replacement, crack repairs, and steel reinforcement.
Throughout the duration of the initial repairs, the owner decided that the entire building needed to be surveyed and repaired where necessary. The additional scope included over 10,000 SF of brick replacement and pinning, limestone replacement, stone patching, about 1,200 SF of column repairs, interior corner repairs, and masonry coating.
Large cracks exhibited at the northeast and southeast corners of the building were repaired by rebuilding sections of these corners. The crew used a variety of methods to access the structure and complete the repairs, including rope access, mast climbers, suspended scaffold and system scaffold.